Election 2017

2017 is the election year for municipalities in Newfoundland & Labrador. This fall, towns across the province will elect municipal leaders to create another four-year mandate. These Councils will be tasked with ensuring that municipal services such as snowclearing, water & sewer, emergency management, economic development, recreational programming and waste disposal are delivered in their communities. Councils are also responsible in the planning and development of their communities by ensuring that regulations are followed and by laying the foundations of new initiatives.

Each election gives residents the opportunity to determine how they want their community to progress for the next four years either by putting themselves forward as candidates for Council or by voting for the people who best represents their vision for the town.

Below, there is a variety of information about the municipal election including key dates, the qualification of candidates, the nomination process and who is an eligible voter. If you have any questions about the election, feel free to contact the Town Office or talk with any of the seven members of the current Council. There are also online resources through the provincial Department of Municipal Affairs and Environment and Municipalities Newfoundland & Labrador .


Key Dates

September 5, 2017

Nomination Day: Candidates can be nominated from 8:00am to 8:00pm at the Town Office, 170 Main Street. The Town will be accepting nominations for the position of Mayor and the positions of six (6) Councillors.


September 12, 2017

Last date that the list of nominated candidates are publicly posted by the Returning Officer


September 26, 2017

Election Day. Polls open at 8:00am and close at 8:00pm at the Town Hall, 170 Main Street


September 29, 2017

Last day to request a recount


October 10, 2017

Last day to swear in new council and hold first council meeting



Qualification of Candidates

In accordance with section 15 of the Municipal Elections Act, a person is qualified to be nominated as a candidate for councillor who:

  • is a qualified voter in the municipality in which he/she is seeking nomination;
  • is not in arrears of taxes or other charges payable to the municipality; and
  • is ordinarily resident in the municipality, or in an area that on election day is part of the municipality, for at least 30 days before the commencement of the nomination period.

A person is not qualified to be nominated as a candidate for councillor where:

  • he/she is the Clerk, Manager or a Paid Department Head of that council;
  • he/she is a member of the House of Commons, the Senate of Canada, the House of Assembly or a judge of the Supreme or Provincial Court;
  • he/she was individually dismissed or was a member of a council that was dismissed by the Minister, in accordance with the Municipalities Act, 1999; and
  • his/her seat was vacated in accordance with applicable legislation.


Nomination Procedures

In accordance with Section 16 of the Municipal Elections Act:

  • A candidate must be nominated by two persons eligible to vote in the municipality;
  • The nomination must be in writing, stating the name and civic address of the candidate and must be signed by the proposer and seconder, both of whom must be present with the candidate and must also sign signifying his/her acceptance of the nomination;
  • In circumstances where a candidate is unable to be present for his/her nomination, the Returning Officer may accept a declaration to this effect from the candidate’s nominators, together with a declaration that the candidate is qualified to be nominated and accepts the nomination;


Nomination Fee

In accordance with section 18 of the Municipal Elections Act, the Returning Officer must collect from each candidate at the time of his/her nomination, a non-refundable nomination fee in the amount of $10 when in a town.


Eligible Voter

In accordance with section 22 of the Municipal Elections Act, a Canadian citizen who is 18 years of age or older is qualified to vote at an election where he or she has been ordinarily resident for the 30 days immediately before election day either in the municipality or in an area that on election day is a part of the municipality.


Proxy Vote

If you unable to visit the Town Hall on September 26, 2017 to vote, you can contact the Town Office to arrange for someone to vote on your behalf. The deadline for contacting the Town Office is 4:00pm, Monday September 25, 2017 to have the proper forms completed.


Notice of Candidates

The following persons have been nominated for election to council:

For Councillor:

Bennett, Cyril

Clouter, Darlene

Efford, Calvin

Greening, Rick

Harris, Navanda

Peddle, Winston

White, Pheobe


For Mayor:

Holloway, S. Chad (elected by acclamation)


Election Results

The following persons have been elected to council:

Mayor: Holloway, S. Chad (elected by acclamation)

Deputy Mayor: Clouter, Darlene

Councillor: Bennett, Cyril

Councillor: Efford, Calvin

Councillor: Harris, Navanda

Councillor: Peddle, Winston

Councillor: White, Pheobe